Storing Hope

Stories about love to restore hope in people's hearts

You can always help

4 Comments

I am always interested to learn more about taking care of people. So I really enjoyed this experience I had recently. Last month a friend and I went to volunteer at Coos County Fairgrounds USA to help hang quilts for the show. The other volunteers were happy to have two young strong men to help them. We split up in groups working together to hang the quilts. In my group there was an older woman who was short, and obviously needed help.

I climbed up the ladder and as she was helping me to stretch the fabric, she said, “You guys, I’m short, I can’t reach up to hang the fabric and I’m afraid to climb a ladder, but I’d like to work with you anyway.” I told her, “You are doing great even if you can’t climb the ladder, because you are holding the fabric for us. Don’t you see that you are also helping us?” But she felt dissatisfied. She said “I don’t feel happy when you are all working hard and climbing the ladder and doing all the work, I would really love to support you guys more.”

After hanging the quilt I came down from the ladder and she was not there anymore. I thought maybe she joined another group because there were many groups also hanging quilts.

Then after a half an hour, she came back and said, “I’m afraid to climb the ladder, but now I got an idea how I can help you guys! I brought you some snacks over there on the table!’’ She started walking around and telling all the people that she brought them snacks. When I came to the table I found some fruit and candy bars she brought for us and I ate some. She was so happy, because she fulfilled her desire of supporting us, and I was so happy too. When I came back home I told my friends what this woman did at the fair and everyone every one was inspired by that story. She really found a good way to help!

In some situations we may think that we can’t be helpful, yet there’s always something you can do to help and inspire people. We all have beautiful desires to help each other, and we can be creative to find ways to support each other.

Quilt picture

 

4 thoughts on “You can always help

  1. I love this story! I have a friend who is starting a business, deciding how much to charge, and how flexible to be with pricing. I felt like I was going out on a limb when I advised her to charge everyone something: everyone has something of value to contribute. They might not have money to pay, but, like you wrote, she and they can find creative ways for them to support her business.

    The quilt in your photo is amazing. I like the way the print and solid-colored fabrics form shapes. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • What a fantastic example you are sharing with me. True everyone has a unique way of contribution for the best of others.

      Well there were many fabrics, but this one was so beautiful. Thank you for the beautiful comment.

      Like

  2. What a lovely story. This reminds me of one of my favorite quotes by Helen Keller “‘Alone we can do so little; together we can do so much.” Just like my aunt used to say when you come upon at turtle sitting on top a stump know this – he didn’t get there by himself. We are all in this together.

    Like

Leave a Reply

